About the 666 Park Avenue sacking and why even bother?

Ok, after yesterday’s bad news for all 666 Park Avenue fans. I ask you why do they even bother making new shows? And why do we bother falling in love with them?

It takes such a huge amount of time, effort and passion to come up with something new, getting it all together and making it happen. The right guys working together, getting to know each other, develop the storyline, the chemistry, all the writers, composers, producers, camera people, lighting, sets, actors, decors, logistics and so many others building a team. And just one lousy figure interpreter without foresight to take it all down!

My point? Look at Star Trek TNG. The first season was new. Duh! Bear with me please…

We all had to get used to not having Captain Kirk “JoeCockering” himself through cardboard decors. But hey, the baldly go where no man has gone before right? Then we did get used to it and it got a second season. But alas, the season 2 curse struck. They changed the winning team. (DONT EVER DO THAT!)

Pulasky? As useful as a screen-door on a submarine! But ok, the rest became more and more interesting, not least because they treated the classic show with respect. No Retcon!

And then came season 3. Unexpected to some, because the ratings hadn’t been that sky-high. But someone with a vision (!) and not just dollar signs in his eyes saw the potential and kept it going even after season 2. And it paid out! The longer it went on, the better it got. You could actually feel the actors having fun, enjoying themselves, the characters evolved, the writing got more and more complex, they started experimenting breaking new grounds, discovering the undiscovered land. Over 7 seasons it became what it is today; a classic hit! And we Trekkies still spend thousands of Dollars each year on that franchise and its conventions. Why? Because it respected us! And we respected it back! Got it Networks? Treat the fans with respect and you will be respected and loved back. And love in this business translates ino: viewers aka ratings aka cash aka show stays on the air! Ergo: piss of the fans and you’re killing your show. But that’s another story.

Now why does a remarkable show like 666 Park Avenue get sacked today? Because no one taking decisions in Hollywood or NBC, ABC, FOX, and any other three-letter word, has any vision any more. It’s all about prequels (WE DO NOT WANT AND LIKE PREQUELS. GOT IT??!!), warming up old soups, “retconning” and making cash today or never out of bronzed morons with the IQ of a Pavlova (Nigella fans know what that is).

And because WE the public are sick of constantly being bombarded with new stuff, that wont even last an entire decent 25 episodes long season. Why bother looking into it and getting into the mood, with the hassle of the commercial breaks that last longer than the episode itself? So many of us are recording (!) shows to watch them later. Hassle free. Yes networks, people record and watch later too, and thanks to all of you constantly airing all the really good shows at the same time, we now can watch them when we want and where we want. Because we have evolved! Have you evolved along with us, dear networks and studios? NOPE! Or we buy the show via iTunes, cheaper and better quality than many antennas. And all that does not show up in your weekly over hyped but antiquated ratings! Looking beyond those “figures” has obviously become impossible, to the office sitters and their surroundings. Patience? Alien concept!

Network and studio execs show such a flagrant lack of common sense and disrespect, usually only associated with my favourite mythical creature: the honest politician, towards all the “creatives” and the fans that I am no longer willing to fall in love with a show, until a season two is definitively on its way! I know it’s not 42 either. (42 being the ultimate answer to life, the universe and everything else of course)

Sad proof? Human Target almost got axed after Season 1. But we fought like devils for this show and got a second season, unfortunately someone decided to change it all. For the worse. And so even the most fervent fans were alienated to the point of giving up on it for good. That is what I call the season 2 curse. Change something by all means without giving it time to settle. This hits almost all shows IMHO.

There is one exception: Even tho my favourite at the moment Hawaii Five-0 was also struck by that season 2 curse. But at least it had a season 2.

I watched the pilot S01E01 because of the actors, yes all four of them! But then I stopped watching, because I knew this would be too painful once it got sacked, it was just too good to be true. My favourite childhood series rebooted. It had to be bad. With some of my current favourite actors, filmed on location in the only other place on earth I could actually imagine moving to in real life, besides my beloved Switzerland. I was almost certain it would turn out like CSI NY. That is as a Universal Back-lot tour with occasional helicopter shots of Manhattan filmed in different film-material than the rest of the show. Trying to revive the flow and groove that shows like Magnum P.I. a MacGuyver, Stingray and the Professionals gave me? It just HAD to get sacked I thought. They don’t do quality stuff like that any more. Well, apparently Peter Lenkov does! And I was wrong! I will never underestimate that man again! I still waited until this summer to catch up. I mean Season 3 with a real chance for a season 4? Really?! BTW, it does keep getting better and better, S03E05 having been epic. This show is here to stay! (here being my heart) And so I let myself go. I allowed myself to fall in love with this show! I love it with a passion. (Yo CBS, don’t ruin it for me, you hear me?)

So of course I started following what Terry O’Quinn was up to, after all he had never disappointed me in any of his work. I had to watch 666, right? Little did I know… 666 axed.

I mean common, just look at the splendid overall ensemble, the ideas, the execution, the wit! All down the drain… So I’m really asking you why do we even bother???

One thought on “About the 666 Park Avenue sacking and why even bother?

  1. Joe 18/11/2012 / 16:35

    ABSO – BLOODY – LUTELY!
    Love the jocockering bit

    Like

Please feel free to leave a reply

